top of page
Portland, Oregon. U.S.A. 
  Death Metal

Petrification was formed in 2014 by Tom Roberts aka WarVest after moving from Houston to Portland, OR following his departure from the band War Master. Arriving with the intention to start a new Death Metal outfit more evil and heavy than anything he had done before, he would later run into Mario Thunder at a show, whom had also moved from Texas with the plan of playing Metal. Early practices began in NE Portland and shortly after Jason, who had relocated with Mario from Dallas, joined as vocalist. Wanting to add a second guitarist, the band tried out several people and after a few failed auditions finally recruited fellow Texan David to helm the strings. One last change in the lineup would occur with the departure of bassist Tyler Wolfe, his replacement Portland native Nukes would solidify the demo-lineup.

Petrification formed out of their love of Old School Swedish, British and particularly Finnish Death Metal. Wanting to create music that while an homage to its roots, allowed it’s members to find their own unique voice in Extreme Metal. Drawn to the evil and doom-laden soundscapes of the Finnish Masters, Petrification set out to meticulously craft their own vision in the writing of the demo ‘Summon Horrendous Destruction’. Lyrically and sonically conjuring apparitions of giant, man-eating Arachnids and other horrors that lurk on the edge of the Void awaiting their victims.

Band Members:

WarVest- Guitar
Mario Thunder- Drums
David- Guitar
Nukes- Bass
Jason- Vocals

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • SoundCloud - Grey Circle